CORE slate sweeps election for retiree delegates in the Chicago Teachers Union

The 34-person slate proposed by CORE (the Caucus Of Rank-and-file Educators) swept all 34 seats for retiree delegates to the 800-member Chicago Teachers Union House of Delegates. The voting, which began in December, ended in January, and the votes were counted on Saturday, January 24, 2015, at the union's offices by members of the union's Rules-Elections Committee.

One of the 34 CORE candidates elected to the CTU House of Delegates for the three-year term beginning January 2015 is Theresa Daniels (above at the January 24 PUSH rally for Chuy). Like most of the CORE candidates, she served for decades as a union delegate from the school where she taught (Carver Area High School, before it became "Carver Military Academy"). Substance photo by Jean Schwab.A total of 35 delegates were being elected, and the eventual CORE slate consisted of 34 union leaders. The 35th person elected was Mary Sharon Reilly, who currently also serves as "functional vice president" on the CTU executive board. (Disclosure: This reporter was a candidate on the CORE slate). Seventy candidates were running in the election for the 35 seats, who will serve three year terms in the union's 800-member House of delegates. Under the constitution and by-laws of the CTU, union teachers elect delegates from the schools at the rate of a first delegate for each 20 members and an additional "associate delegate" for each additional 40 teacher members in the schools. Elections for school teacher delegates are held in the schools.

Other groups in the CTU (school clerks, clinicians, etc.) also elect delegates at the rate of one for 40 members. Like the retiree delegates, delegate elections for other groups are held by mail ballot.

Retiree delegates are elected at the rate of one delegate for each 100 retiree members, a difference with all other groups in the union. Because the union has 3,500 retiree members the election would result in 35 delegates for the retiree functional group.

The official vote counts provided by the Rules-Elections Committee are as follows:


Nominee Total Votes Knazze 1166 winner

Schmidt 1136 winner

Wilson 1101 winner

Lewis 1096 winner

Foley 1077 winner

Daniels 1075 winner

Nelson 1074 winner

McCormick 1039 winner

Silver 1033 winner

Jones 1031 winner

Edmonds 1029 winner

Lumpkin 1029 winner

Heath 1023 winner

Bures 1007 winner

Ball 973 winner

Socoloff 966 winner

G. Milkowski 965 winner

Brent 954 winner

C. Scott 949 winner

Carter 945 winner

White 942 winner

L. Milkowski 931 winner

Lalagos 930 winner

Caref 915 winner

Knudstrup 913 winner

Schwab 896 winner

Slavitt 888 winner

Freed 886 winner

Ramirez O'Dell 878 winner

Livingston 870 winner

Steward 853 winner

Lamme 845 winner

Margotte 828 winner

Saffro 817 winner

Reilly 690 winner


Keating 642 McGuire 589 Laughlin 579 Dykas 530 Jackson 528 E. Stewart 526 Pyster 488 Kane 486 Siegal 480 Otero 468 Ardito 464 Gidden 461 Page 438

Perrotte 423

Ackerman 411

Ecotor 405

Orlowek 385

Baker 354

W. Scott 311

Sullivan 311

Adler 306

Friedman 305

Perry 293

J. Stewart 285

Loftus 284

Simmons 282

Roberts 277

Morgan 255

Barron 247

Cohn 240

Qualls 211

Allen 205

Weiner 183

Collazo-Robinson 155


January 26, 2015 at 7:39 AM

By: Albert Korach

Retiree Election

Best wishes to all winners. Wish I could be back on the House of Delegates Floor again. The only thing I miss while living in Florida is Substance & the CTU. Keep your eyes on the pension laws.

January 26, 2015 at 11:45 AM

By: Theresa D. Daniels

Such wonderful retiree activists CTU has

I thank all the retirees who voted, especially those who got me elected as retiree delegate once more. I wish all the worthy retirees who were candidates could have become delegates. We have so many wonderful retirees (and active teachers who are the retirees of the future)in our proud union, the Chicago Teachers Union, third largest in the nation. Yay, us! We're doing good!

Add your own comment (all fields are necessary)

Substance readers:

You must give your first name and last name under "Name" when you post a comment at We are not operating a blog and do not allow anonymous or pseudonymous comments. Our readers deserve to know who is commenting, just as they deserve to know the source of our news reports and analysis.

Please respect this, and also provide us with an accurate e-mail address.

Thank you,

The Editors of Substance

Your Name

Your Email

What's your comment about?

Your Comment

Please answer this to prove you're not a robot:

5 + 3 =