Two of three pension trustee elections cancelled because they are uncontested... Only retirees will be voting this year...

Elections for two of three categories of elected trustees to the Chicago Teachers Pension Fund (CTPF) have been cancelled because there is no contest in the election. Two teacher trustees are running unopposed, as is the one principal/administrator candidate. The only voting in a contested election is for the more than 11,000 teacher retirees. In that race, there are seven candidates for three positions.

The CTPF made the announcement in a bulletin on Halloween:

2017 Trustee Election Updates

Teacher and Principal/Administrator Election Cancelled as Uncontested

The CTPF Board elections for two Teacher Trustee positions and one Principal/Administrator Trustee position have been cancelled as uncontested. Two candidates submitted petitions for the Teacher Trustee positions and one candidate submitted petitions for the Principal/Administrator Trustee position. Since the number of candidates did not exceed the number of open positions, the remaining Teacher and Principal/Administrator election procedures have been cancelled.

Tina Padilla and Gregory Redfeairn have been certified as nominees for Teacher Trustee, and Jerry Travlos has been certified as a nominee for Principal/Administrator Trustee. The Canvassing Board will meet by November 8, 2017, to officially certify the results for these uncontested elections.

CTPF will still hold an election for three Pensioner Trustee positions.

Pensioner Trustee Election

From October 20-November 7, 2017, at 5:00 p.m., the Chicago Teachers' Pension Fund will hold elections for three Pensioner Trustees to serve two-year terms from November 2017-2019. Pensioner Trustee candidates are: (candidates are listed in random order) Robert F. "Bob" Bures

Virginia M. Cudecki

Mary Sharon Reilly

Lois Nelson

Walter E. Pilditch

George Milkowski

Maria J. Rodriguez Pensioners have the option of voting online or with a paper ballot. Paper ballots must be received (not postmarked) by 5:00 p.m. on November 7, 2017. To vote online, visit the Election Services site and enter the PIN printed on the ballot you received in the mail.

Please only vote once via either mail-in ballot or online; any duplicate ballots will be discarded. Election Results

Final election results will be certified by the Canvassing Board by November 8, 2017, and the new Trustees will be sworn in during the CTPF Board of Trustees Meeting on November 16, 2017.


November 15, 2017 at 10:07 AM

By: Jean Schwab


Who are Maria Rodriguez and Bob Bures. I've never heard of them and I did not vote for them. I don't know who they represent and how they won. As far as I know, they have not gone to demonstrations or any meetings with me. Who art they and who do they represent?

November 20, 2017 at 6:04 AM

By: George N. Schmidt

Who are Rodriguez and Bures? As near as your HOD seat...

Bob Bures is a retired teacher delegate who sits within 20 feet of you at the CTU House of Delegates meetings. Maria Rodriguez is a former teacher, union staff member, and pension trustee who attends every union meeting as a visitor (she is not currently a HOD delegate). I hope this answers those questions, since if what is meant by "meetings" actually means HOD meetings... well, this is the answer.

Add your own comment (all fields are necessary)

Substance readers:

You must give your first name and last name under "Name" when you post a comment at We are not operating a blog and do not allow anonymous or pseudonymous comments. Our readers deserve to know who is commenting, just as they deserve to know the source of our news reports and analysis.

Please respect this, and also provide us with an accurate e-mail address.

Thank you,

The Editors of Substance

Your Name

Your Email

What's your comment about?

Your Comment

Please answer this to prove you're not a robot:

3 + 1 =