Chicago Teachers Pension Fund gets new leadership... Rehak and Ashford now officers of the CTPF

At its first meeting since the November 4, 2011, election of two teacher trustees that shifted the balance on the $10 billion Board of Trustees of the Chicago Teachers Pension Fund (CTPF), the fund's trustees, on November 17, 2011, elected Jay Rehak and Lois Ashford as President and Vice-President of the fund. The trustees manage the assets for Chicago public school teachers (which includes principals and assistant principals).

The organization votes came following the swearing in of five recently elected trustees, two of whom, Ray Wohl and Tina Padilla, represent active duty teachers. After the new trustees were sworn in, the trustees went to the first order of business, which is to organize themselves, and elected their officers. Rehak and Ashford replace John O'Brill and Maria Rodriguez, who are no longer trustees of the fund (O'Brill was defeated in his bid for another term as teacher trustee; Rodriguez, who had retired, ran for a seat as a retiree trustee and lost).

Tina Padilla was elected financial secretary, and James Ward recording secretary.

The newly elected (or re-elected) trustees of the Chicago Teachers Pension Fund were sworn in by attorney Joseph Burns (third from left) during the trustee meeting on November 17, 2011. Above, left to right standing, Ray Wohl (newly elected teacher trustee), Tina Padilla (newly elected teacher trustee), Attorney Joseph Burns, Walter Pilditch (re-elected as retiree trustee), Mary Sharon Reilly (re-elected as retiree trustee), and James Ward (re-elected as retiree trustee). Seated between Pilditch and Reilly is Kris Kotis, who represents principals. Substance photo by George N. Schmidt.The vote in favor of all of the new officers and committee chairs at the fund was unanimous. Eleven of the 12 trustees of the fund were present during the morning portion of the all-day monthly meeting. The fund also announced that Rodrigo Sierra, one of two representatives of the Chicago Board of Education, had been selected for another term on the trustees. The $10 billion fund is governed by 12 trustees, ten of whom are elected and two of whom come from the Board of Education.

The trustees meet once a month in what is usually an all-day meeting. Committees of the fund meet during the month. Further information about the fund is available at


Add your own comment (all fields are necessary)

Substance readers:

You must give your first name and last name under "Name" when you post a comment at We are not operating a blog and do not allow anonymous or pseudonymous comments. Our readers deserve to know who is commenting, just as they deserve to know the source of our news reports and analysis.

Please respect this, and also provide us with an accurate e-mail address.

Thank you,

The Editors of Substance

Your Name

Your Email

What's your comment about?

Your Comment

Please answer this to prove you're not a robot:

3 + 1 =