CTU elects delegates for citywide posts

The votes were counted by the Chicago Teachers Union Rules-Elections Committee on Monday, November 7, 2011, and the certified results have been posted now on the CTU Website ( (Full disclosure: This reporter is a member of the Rules-Elections Committee). Delegates were elected to represent members of various groups that are not based in any particular school. All delegates (school-based and citywide) are up for election again in January 2012. The October - November 2011 elections below were for the remainder of the terms.

Here are the results by group:

Citywide Delegate Election Results 11/7/11 (Published at 11/08/2011)

Delegates Automatically Seated because the number of nominees equaled the number of candidates

Speech Therapists

Margaret M. Kane

Student Special Service Advocates

Anthony Warren

School Nurses

Denise Racky

Saria Lofton

Temporary Teachers

Renee Latronica

Day-to-Day Substitutes

Patricia Breckenridge

City-Wide DTV-Social Workers, School Psychologists and Teachers – 7 Vacancies

*New Delegates Elected. Name (Votes)

*Therese M. Boyle (118)

*Sheryl Thomas (104)

*Carol J. Hayse (103)

*Benita A. Shanklin (103)

*Gloria J. Bashir (91)

*Bessie Tsitsopoulos (87)

*Evelyn Ruiz (68)


Sara Mills (60)

Marc Wigler (56)

Gary Wittbrodt (44)

Jacqueline Branson-Johnson (38)

Christa Lohman (32)

City-Wide School Clerks SCV – 3 Vacancies

*new delegates

*Lucille Thompson (46 votes)

*Barbara J. Davis (votes 44)

*Barbara J. Brown (35 votes)


Jennifer Davis-Harrington


City-Wide Teacher Assistants – 5 Vacancies, *new delegates. Name (Votes)

*James B. Lopez (91)

*Patricia Robinson (85)

*Kimberly Y. Henry (81)

*Sharon D. Stamps (76)

*Maria C. Alvarez (75)


Melenie Gomez (74)

Carmella M. Miller (60)

Wylene Flowers


Sharlene Shaw



Add your own comment (all fields are necessary)

Substance readers:

You must give your first name and last name under "Name" when you post a comment at We are not operating a blog and do not allow anonymous or pseudonymous comments. Our readers deserve to know who is commenting, just as they deserve to know the source of our news reports and analysis.

Please respect this, and also provide us with an accurate e-mail address.

Thank you,

The Editors of Substance

Your Name

Your Email

What's your comment about?

Your Comment

Please answer this to prove you're not a robot:

2 + 1 =